The Giving Horse

Psalm 32:9 (KJV) 9 Be ye not as the horse, [or] as the mule, [which] have no understanding: whose mouth must be held in with bit and bridle, lest they come near unto thee.

Psalm 32:8 says, ” I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go I will guide you with My eye.”

There are many commentaries on these two verses and translations broken down word by word. None I saw addressed the horse and rider! 

 Look at these two verses from the perspective of a horse owner and trainer. When I have a new horse that has had little or no training the bit in its mouth is an important tool in training. I also need to train the horse to come to me and to work with me. This can often be a daunting task especially if the horse is ornery. There is a period of learning for the horse to understand the cues or how I am communicating to get an end result. Without training aids I get nothing. There is often a lot of forgiveness and love along with very defined discipline during this time. Once I have worked with a horse for a period of time the communication can be done more and more without the forcing of training aids. My best girl Ziggy will literally go where I look. Once we have spent time together and she is listening for my cues, I can be in the saddle or on the ground and change where my eyes are focused and she will go in that direction becoming one with me in action. Bridleless riding is a goal for training. Bit less riding is also the sign of a well trained or giving horse. A horse well connected or tuned into its master will know what the master wants intuitively and with very little or no force. The horse becomes one with the rider ready to respond to the riders directing.

As I grow in my relationship with the Father am I becoming more intune with his desires and directing? Is it a natural directing and communing or do I still need harsh training aids to get me to obey His commands? Have I given myself, like the giving horse, to His leading and guidance? 

I pray today that I would be the bridleless horse in my relationship with you Lord!

About Jesus Follower

A Christian for over 30 years I love the study of the bible and the application of it to live a life pleasing to God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

